2024 AIA East Tennessee Gold Medal

The Gold Medal is the AIA East Tennessee Chapter’s highest honor.

The award recognizes individuals whose work has had a lasting influence on the theory or practice of architecture. The Gold Medal is open to an architect (living or deceased), or architects, who have created a body of distinguished work.

The Board of Directors evaluates candidates based on how well they meet this criterion, which includes how their contributions have:
  • Demonstrated great depth and breadth
  • Having a cumulative effect on the profession
  • Addressed the future of architecture while honoring its tradition
  • Transcended or united specific areas of expertise
  • Become widely known—by architects, designers, educators, and the public—for the quality of their work

Nomination Guidelines

The documentation should be submitted as a single PDF file addressed to the Board President and shall include the following:

  • The nomination shall be submitted as a single PDF file, addressed to the Board President explaining the nomination. Upload the pdf via the form below.
  • Nominations must be submitted by August 11th at 5pm via the form below. If you have any issues accessing or utilizing the nomination form, please email [email protected].
  • The nomination PDF should include:
    • Nomination letter summarizing the candidate’s contributions (maximum one page)
    • A brief biography of the candidate (maximum two pages)
    • Statement or list of the candidate’s achievements and awards (maximum two pages)
    • Descriptive statements and images of the candidate’s work (minimum of three projects)
    • Three letters of support addressed to the Board (maximum one page each)
    • Other miscellaneous material, including clippings and articles, is optional (maximum three pages)

This honor is based on merit; there is no expectation that it is granted every year.

2024 nominations open June 28th, 2024.

Past Gold Medal Recipients

Scroll to Top