2022 Design Awards Gala

We want to thank everyone who attended our 2022 Design Awards Gala! We had an amazing time celebrating alongside of all of our members, guests, sponsors, and winners! Stay tuned for our 2023 Save the Date!

2022 Design Awards Gala Submission Portal is Closed

We want to thank everyone who submitted a project for our 2022 Design Awards. We will announce when next years submissions are opening at the end of the year.

To recognize excellence in architecture, AIA East Tennessee conducts an annual juried Design Awards Program. This program seeks to honor built and unbuilt works of distinction designed by AIA members in upper and middle East Tennessee, and to serve as a catalyst for local participation in the AIA Tennessee Awards Program. The program also brings public attention to outstanding examples of architecture. Winners of this year’s program will be announced and celebrated at the 2022 Design Awards Gala, this competition is open to all members of AIA East Tennessee.

2022 Design Awards Jury Panel

Jury Chair: David W. Mayo, AIA

David's Bio

Roberto de Leon, FAIA, NCARB, LEED, AP

Roberto's Bio

Jeffery Pickett, AIA

Jeffery's Bio

Jordan Hines

Jordan's Bio

View Previous Award Projects HERE

2022 Gold Medal Award Recipient

2022 Gold Medal Recipient: Lee Ingram

View Lee’s Award Video below.

2022 Design Awards Gala Sponsors

Sponsors like the amazing folks below have signed onto help create an amazing atmosphere for our 2022 Design Awards Gala, and to get their business out in front of sought after firms throughout our East Tennessee Region. Please browse our sponsorship opportunities via our Partnership Shop or reach out to Jen McMahon at [email protected] if you have any questions.

Presenting Sponsor

Host Sponsors

Contributing Sponsors

In-Kind Graphics and Website Design

David W, Mayo, AIA
Jury Chair

David is a graduate from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. He is a licensed Architect with over 17 years of experience. Prior to forming Studio MAYO Architects in 2016, David worked as an Associate Principal at the award winning firm of de Leon & Primmer Architecture Workshop. During that time he has received numerous AIA design awards. Most notably, David
acted as project manager on the Mason Lane Farm Operations Facility and the Owsley Brown II History Center which both received an American Institute of Architects National Design Award for Architecture (DPAW).

In 2018 Studio MAYO Architects received an American Institute of Architects Kentucky State Merit Award for Design Excellence for the Second Chances Wildlife Education Center. Since 2011 David has sat on the jury for the AIA design awards competition for Iowa, Northern Alabama, and Eastern Ohio. Additionally, David was invited to speak at the 2013 Kentucky AIA
convention, Louisville PechaKucha vol 14, the Louisville commission on Public art, and the 2018 AIA Kentucky Design Awards Project showcase.

David’s work has been featured in national exhibits and publications including: ARCHITECT Magazine, Architectural Record Magazine, Dwell  Magazine, Design Bureau Magazine, and the 2020 National American Institute of Architects Emerging Professionals Exhibit.

Roberto de Leon, FAIA, NCARB, LEED, AP
Jury Member

Roberto de Leon is a partner and co-founder of de Leon & Primmer Architecture Workshop (DPAW), a collaborative design studio focusing on public projects with a cultural, civic or not-for-profit basis. His work is recognized for its contextual sensitivity, innovation in material applications, and the holistic integration of sustainable strategies rooted in regional specificity. His research operates at a range of scales and environments – both urban & rural – while exploring relationships between local & global building traditions. Roberto holds a Master In Architecture from Harvard University and a Bachelor of Arts In Architecture from the University of California at Berkeley.

DPAW’s working methodology draws inspiration from regional traditions of craft and fabrication, placing an emphasis on the potential of conventional materials and construction methods. Through an immersive process of research & investigation, the studio cultivates an understanding
of contextual specificity as a nuanced relationship between place, time and local culture. In implementing this approach, the Workshop purposefully embraces a design rigor aimed at simplicity and precision, with the underlying premise that innovation necessarily equals economy.

Since its founding in 2003, the strength of the firm’s work has been recognized through many honors and awards, including selection for the 2010 Design Vanguard by Architectural Record and the 2011 Emerging Voices by the Architectural League of New York, each honor ‘recognizing design firms or individuals with a distinct design voice that has the potential to influence the discipline of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design’. The studio has garnered three national American Institute of Architects (AIA) Honor Awards, twenty-three AIA Chapter Awards and over thirty international design awards. Roberto’s work through DPAW has been published in many design magazines and books nationally and abroad, and has been exhibited at several international venues including the 2021 Venice Biennale, the 2012 & 2014 Istanbul Design Biennial, the 2011 Beijing International Design Triennial, and WOOD 2010 in Smaland, Sweden.

In 2016, Roberto was elevated to The College of Fellows of The American Institute of Architects

Jeffery D. Pickett, AIA
Jury Member

A graduate from the University of Kentucky College of Architecture, Jeffery is a licensed Architect with over 26 years of experience. Before starting Pickett Passafiume Architects (PPA) in 2011, Jeffery practiced architecture at the award winning firms of HLW (Los Angeles) and Bravura (Louisville). Jeffery has taught architecture studios at the University of Kentucky where he is a regular guest critic.

As the founder and managing principal of PPA, Jeffery is in charge of the overall design process and has extensive experience in all aspects of the architecture profession. Jeffery’s broad experience includes complex adaptive reuse renovations, commercial, educational, religious, cultural & residential projects.

Jeffery’s hands-on construction and self-made craftsman experience has developed a design methodology that distills the truly essential project elements and concepts with an emphasis on materiality, construction methods and a sense of place.

Jordan Hines
Jury Member

Jordan Hines is a designer living in Lexington, KY. Jordan is a lecturer at the University of Kentucky-School of Architecture. His research and teaching focuses on community partnerships, design-build studios, and pre-college level design education outreach programs. He has led and partnered studios with projects at Shaker Village at Pleasant Hill, Lexington Friends Montessori School, University of Kentucky Center for Recycling, the Kentucky Centers School of the Arts and other nonprofit organizations. Jordan also teaches architecture courses for non-majors to introduce the role of design in the build environment. Additionally, Jordan is one half of Informal Office with completes creative work at the confluence of narrative and materials.

Scroll to Top