Gold Medal Award

AIA East Tennessee Gold Medal

The Gold Medal is the AIA East Tennessee Chapter’s highest honor. It is intended to recognize individuals whose work has had a lasting influence on the theory or practice of architecture. The Gold Medal is open to a single architect (living or deceased), or architects, who have created a body of distinguished work.

The Board of Directors evaluates candidates based on how well they meet this criterion, which includes how their contributions have:
• demonstrated great depth and breadth
• having a cumulative effect on the profession
• addressed the future of architecture while honoring its tradition
• transcended or united specific areas of expertise
• become widely known—by architects, designers, educators, and the public—for the quality of their work

If you wish to make a nominations, you may request a previous submission be sent to you to see what is expected of the nomination. The documentation should be submitted as a single PDF file addressed to the Board President and shall include the following:
• nomination letter summarizing the candidate’s contributions (maximum one page)
• brief biography of the candidate (maximum two pages)
• statement or list of the candidate’s achievements and awards (maximum two pages)
• descriptive statements and images of the candidate’s work (minimum of three projects)
• three letters of support addressed to the Board (maximum one page each)
• other miscellaneous material, including clippings and articles, is optional (maximum three pages)

Nominations shall be considered by the AIA East Tennessee Board of Directors on an annual basis. Submissions shall be reviewed individually, and discussed as a group. Each Board Member shall receive one vote. A super majority of two thirds will be required for successful award.

This honor is based on merit; there is no expectation that it is granted every year.

Previous AIA East Tennessee Gold Medal recipients have been:

2017 Charles Ross II, AIA (Posthumously)
2015 Marleen Kay Davis, FAIA
2014 John McRae, FAIA
2013 Robert Holsaple, AIA
2012 David Wooley, FAIA
2011 Gene Burr, AIA
2009 Doug McCarty, AIA
2007 Max Robinson
2006 Frank Sparkman, AIA
2002 Kenneth Moffitt, AIA
2001 Robert C. Parrott, FAIA
2000 W. Glenn Bullock, FAIA
1998 Robert B. Church III, AIA (Posthumously)
1997 L. Duane Grieve, FAIA
1996 Bruce McCarty, FAIA

Upcoming Events

Mon 10

Bullock Smith Retrospective Opening Reception

December 10 @ 5:30 pm - 7:00 pm
Tue 11

Program Committee Meeting

December 11 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Wed 12

Development Committee Meeting

December 12 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm